ISRO- Indian Space Program, important facts


Full form – Indian space research organization.

Full form in Hindi – भारतीय अंतरिक्ष अनुसंधान संगठन

In this lesson, we would study following points

    1. History
    2. Satellite Orbits
    3. Important Indian satellites
    4. Indian Launch vehicles
    5. Indian Space Stations
    6. Important Events  & Facts


  • In 1962 a Organization was formed name as Indian Space Research Committee.
  • Thumba Rocket Launch Site was Constructed at Thiruvananthapuram.
  • In 1969 Re Organization was formed name as Indian Space Research Organisation(ISRO).
  • Aryabhatta first satellite of india launched by ISRO from Kosmos-3M Rocket at Kapustin Yar, Russia in 19 April 1975.

2.Satellite Orbits

According to Altitude

  • Low Earth orbit (LEO): Geocentric orbits with altitudes   from 160 to 2,000 km (ISS, Hubble telescope).
  • Medium Earth orbit (MEO): altitude from 2,000 km  to 35,786 kilometers with an orbital period of 12 hours. (Navigation GPS,Glonass, communication).
  • Geosynchronous orbit (GSO) and geostationary orbit (GEO) Above 35,786 Km with an orbital period of 24 hours.

3. Important Indian satellites

  • Aryabhata
  • Bhaskar
  • RTP
  • Metsat (kalpana-1)
  • Chandrayaan-1
  • MOM
  • Record of 104
  • GSAT-19

4. Indian Launch Vehicles

SLV-3 was first vehicle of india which capacity of 40 kg.

ASLV (Augmented Satellite Launch Vehicle) was second vehicle of India which capacity of 150 kg,

Launch 4 satellite, 1 was success.

PSLV (Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle) is third vehicle.

First flight                       PSLV: 20 September 1993

Capacity-                         1400 – 3800 Kg

Mission-                          39 ( 2 Fail )

Satellite launched-        46 Indian, 180 Foreigners

GSLV (Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle) is fourth vehicle

Version –           Mk 1, Mk 2, Mk 3

First flight-       18 April 2001

Capacity-          2500 – 5000 kg9 ( Mk-3 2500- 10000 kg)

Mission-            11 ( 5 Fail )

Engine-             Cryogenic technology

Fuel-                  liquid Hydrogen (-250 C) liquid Oxygen (-183 C )

5. Indian Space Stations

  • Vikram Sarabhai Space Center (TLS) – Located in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala. in 1962.
  • Satish Dhawan Space Centre-  It is located in Sriharikota in Andhra Pradesh. Formed 1 October 1971.
  • Master Control Facility-  in the city of Hassan in the Indian state of Karnataka.Established in 1982.
  •  Satellite Center (ISAC)-  It was established in 1972  in Peenya Industrial Estates of Bengaluru.
  • National Remote Sensing Agency-  Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India,Founded: 1974 is responsible for acquisition, processing, supply of satellite data.

6. Important Events  & Facts

  • Dr. vikram Sarabhai is father of Indian Space Program.
  • Satish dhawan was first chairman of ISRO.
  • Headquerter located at Bangluru.
  • India is 4th country reached on mars in the world and 1st in Asia
  • Aditya is program of India for Sun.
  • First rocket launched by ISRO from Thumba Station.
  • Nike epas is first rocket launched by India.
  • Rakesh sharma was gone space via Soyuz 2 in 1984.
  • Apple was India’s first geostationary satellite.
  • Antrix Corporation is Business organization of ISRO.
  • Kalpana chawla was first Indian woman gone to space by  Columbia spacecraft.

if you have any questions, please write in comment box.

Best of Luck !

2 thoughts on “ISRO- Indian Space Program, important facts”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!